Apologies for the long hiatus! I have not really been cooking due to my schedule lately, however that is not the only reason. I have been trying to do some detoxing for overall health benefits. It has been proving to go well – clearer skin, healthier nails, lesser hair breakage/drop, lesser water retention, reduced tummy bloat, energetic the entire day… These are just the visual benefits. Bone broths have come a long way and it is known to boost immunity, prevent cancer (prevent cancer tumor metastasis according to ground breaking researcher Dr. Matthias Rath), heal the gut, etc.

This is proof:

IMG_6163
No filter, no edits. Make up: eyeliner, brows, Luminess Silk (I will share next time). Picture taken at 9pm and i woke up at 7am.
I need to thank my Instant Pot for making me awesome bone broths! There are many bone broth recipes on the IP community. However, as an Asian Chinese, I had to add some Chinese herbs as well. As a woman, it is critically important to nourish our body, especially from the 8th – 14th day of our cycle.

My detox diet consists of 1 mug of bone broth in the morning and 1 mug of bone broth 2 hours before bed. I take herbal bone broths from the 6th to the 14th day, rest of the days are just chicken or beef bone broths. During this period, my diet contains mostly fruits and vegetables. Yeps! I have 1/2 Hass Avocado a day! I also have 1/2 cup brown rice or 1/2 cup gluten-free quinoa pasta a day to keep me full. Other food includes eggs, banana, apple, orange, blueberries, cherries, chicken breast, lean beef, no sodium albacore tuna, brocolli, cauliflower, kale, spinach, halibut, wild caught salmon. Not forgetting, lots of water (added lemon slices) to flush the system – at least 50oz a day. I also brew green tea and drink several cups a day without sugar.

I’ll stop talking and share my herbal bone broth recipe now:

Serving: 10 cups | Time: 5h

Ingredients

  • 3.5lbs or 1.6kg of Chicken bones/Beef bones/Chicken feet
  • 10 cups Water
  • 1 tbsp Apple Cider Vinegar
  • 1 large Onion; halved
  • 3 slices Ginger
  • Bunch of Celery heads
  • 1 Carrot; halved
  • 1/2 cup dried Shitake/Chinese Mushrooms
  • 8 Red Dates
  • 1/2 cup Goji Berries
  • 8-10 pcs Dang Gui (Angelicae Sinensis)

Directions

  1. Blanch bones with hot water if it’s raw. Otherwise skip this step.
  2. Put all the ingredients into the pot.
  3. Set to ‘manual’, ‘high pressure’, ‘240 mins’.
  4. Allow a natural release.
  5. Strain broth. I scum the layer with a spoon I got from the Chinese store as it removes the oil effectively.
  6. Let it cool if you intend to freeze it.

Slowcooker: Slowcook for 48 hours on high.

Enjoy!

