Growing up in a Chinese family, my mother makes nutritious double boiled soup almost every single day. These Chinese soups take many hours of brewing either on the stove or in the slow cooker overnight. Back in Singapore, I am lazy so I use a stove top pressure cooker (no such thing as IP in Singapore sadly). Of course! With the Instant Pot now, everything is made much easier and faster. 

It is so good that I can have a bowl of jasmine rice with a bowl of double boiled soup.

Idea: I like to make bone broth stock cubes (no salt – just lots of bones and vegetable ends) in my IP and freeze them in ice cube trays. Whenever I need to flavor my soups or stews, I simply throw in 3-4 cubes.

60 mins (Instant Pot) | Serves 3-4 paxes

Ingredients

  • 400g Lotus Root; sliced
  • 300g Pork Ribs (substitute with chicken bones; chicken feet); blanched
  • 1 Carrot; sliced
  • 1/2 cup dried Black Beans
  • 3/4 cup de-shelled raw Peanuts
  • 6 pcs dried Scallops (optional)
  • 1 dried Cuttlefish (optional)
  • 10 dried pitted Red Dates
  • 1/4 cup Wolfberries
  • 6.5 cups (1.5L) Water (use pre-made bone broth or mix in broth cubes instead)
  • Salt; to taste (depending on taste buds but I don’t use salt in my cooking)
  • Chinese Coriander/Cilantro

*You can get these items from an Asian grocery store.

Directions

  1. Put all the ingredients into the IP (including stock cubes if using).
  2. Use the ‘Soup’ function but increase the time to 60 mins.
  3. Do a natural release.
  4. Garnish and serve hot.

Slow Cooker: Simply set to high and slow-cook for 8 hours.

Stove Top: Simmer over a low fire for 3-4 hours or until pork ribs and lotus root are tender.

