To those who knows me, I hate tomatoes and I hate carrots. However, for some weird reasons, if it is tomato soup, I’ll love it. If it’s pasta, I’ll love it. As for carrots, unless I can’t taste it or see it, I’ll eat it. So now, I’ve turned the 2 vegetables that I hate into a soup, so that I can still benefit from the Vitamins.

Tomatoes and carrots are one of the world’s healthiest food. It is full of Vitamin C and many other vitamins and minerals like Vitamin E, Thiamin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate, Magnesium, Phosphorus and Copper, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin K, Potassium and Manganese. 

I can’t find any reason not to have it and so here goes my recipe!

Serves 8 paxes | 15 mins to 1 hour

Ingredients 

  • 2 tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 8oz Yellow Onions; chopped
  • 8oz Baby Carrots; chopped
  • 84oz Fresh Roma Tomatoes; quartered or more (substitute: Canned Tomatoes in Tetra Packs) 
  • 1 cup Unsalted Chicken Stock (substitute: Vegetable Stock/Bone Broth)
  • 1.5 cups Half & Half/Heavy Cream
  • 1 tbsp Dried Basil
  • 1 tsp Fish Sauce 
  • Salt; to taste (I did not use any Salt)
  • Black Pepper for garnish 
  • Fresh/Dried Basil for garnish 

Directions

  1. Sauté onions and carrots with olive oil for about 4-5 mins (onions will be slightly translucent).
  2. Add stock, tomatoes, chicken stock and dried basil.
  3. Add fish sauce when it starts to simmer. 
  4. If using the Instant Pot, set to ‘Manual’, 8 mins and high pressure. Allow natural release. If over the stove top, simmer on medium for 40-45 mins. 
  5. Using an immersion hand blender, blend soup till smooth. If using a good blender, please make sure you leave a gap for steam to escape.
  6. Return soup to pot over sauté or low fire, slowly add half and half/heavy cream, season to taste. 
  7. Garnish. Serve with garlic bread. 

♥️

* As always for the IP add the oil only when the ‘HOT’ indicator appears.

* Halve the recipe if you don’t wish to make so much. The only reason why I make so much is because this soup can be cooled and frozen.

