Prior to making my own yoghurt, I kept wondering what is with the hooha of making your own. It seems like there are too many steps to take and too much of a hassle. It is like.. A cup of approximately 5oz of Organic Greek Chobani only costs USD$1.40. Pretty much affordable even for yoghurt person like me (I can eat it daily)! 

And so.. After reading the detailed post of Pressure Cooking Recipes, I mustered my courage. Before that, there were many recipes floating around, but it felt too wordy and after reading it, I simply ‘X’ the page. 

And so.. I followed Pressure Cooking Recipes’ instructions and multiplied their metrics but with a different Milk and higher quantity. I used 1 gallon (3.78L) Trader Joe’s Organic Whole Milk (Pasturized) and part of Chobani Plain Greek Yoghurt (121g). I also did 8 hours and the yoghurt was perfect, just the way I like it. I’m not a fan of super tangy or very tangy so yups. 

Is it really cheap? Let’s do the math!

  • 1 Gallon of Trader Joe’s Organic Whole Milk USD$5.78
  • 1 cup (approximately 5oz) of Organic Plain Greek Chobani USD$1.40

Out of 1 gallon and after straining for 8 hours (to get Greek yoghurt – I like it super thick), I managed to fill 9 one pint bottles up to 2/3 (cuz I wanna put fruits and granola). That means I have 10.67 oz of yoghurt per bottle and thus a total of 96 oz. 

Total cost is USD$7.18 for approximately 96oz. The per oz cost is $0.075, that means per 5oz, it is only USD$0.37 (as compared to USD$1.40). It is obviously VERY SIGNIFICANTLY CHEAPER! On top of it, you control the ingredients, store bought ones definitely contains a lot of sugar or more than what I wanted at least. 

So.. Many will argue.. But you cannot put a dollar sign to time. Did it really take up a lot of time? I would say nope, it doesn’t! The steps are actually so simple, as simple as what is on their post. 

  1. Use the ‘Yogurt’ more function to boil to 180 degrees Fahrenheit (venting position don’t matter, it is not Pressure cooking). It takes 35-40 mins. It will beep when it is ready so you can go do whatever you want (I did not even need to open and stir it). Mine did not reach 180 degrees Fahrenheit but that’s fine, they did suggest 15 mins on the ‘Slow Cook’ less function and the temperature was perfect after it. Again, it will beep when ready. FYI, you could use the stove to heat the milk too.  But that will definitely require frequent stirring. 
  2. Set it in a cold water bath to bring it down to 111 degrees Fahrenheit. I used a rubber spatula to stir. That took me 4 mins. Remove from bath immediately. Pretty effortless! 
  3. In a cold/cool bowl, mix the cooled milk with the starter (yoghurt you bought). Mix it back in into your pot of yoghurt. That took 1 min. 
  4. Use the ‘Yogurt’ normal function to incubate the yoghurt (venting position don’t matter, it is not Pressure cooking). I did 8 hours as I really don’t like it too tangy. Simply set the timer on your phone as a reminder and do whatever you like. I didn’t even bother checking at 6 hours. 
  5. Straining (optional): I strain because I wanted to remove more sugar that is in the whey. But it is completely optional, you could just refrigerate and enjoy the yoghurt with your favorite oatmeal, honey/maple, fruits, granola, nuts, seeds etc etc. 

Tadah! This is my yoghurt in its pretty bottles, packed with full of protein, fiber, mineral and vitamins. There is only 8 here as I saved the other bottle to make Chicken Tikka and as my next batch of yoghurt starter. 

Homemade yoghurt with soaked organic chia seeds and organic blueberry compote (all ingredients organic). I’ll only add granola when I wanna eat it.
Topdown view – Has 2 tbsp of homemade organic blueberry compote and 3 tbsp of soaked organic chia seeds!
 

I am now truly convinced on making my own yoghurt… Not so much for saving money but for the taste. Best yoghurt I’ve ever tasted!

Disclaimer: I am not sure if different milk will yield different tastes. As mentioned in the post, I am using Trader Joe’s Organic Whole Milk (Pasturized). I strained my yoghurt as well to make it Greek yoghurt. 

