First and foremost, I am not a Thai. However, I love Thai food. I might not make it in the correct method because I’m always finding shortcuts… I sincerely hope that I do not offend anyone with the method I’m using.

Serves 4 | Cook + Prep Time: 30 mins

Ingredients

  • 2 sweet Mangoes
  • 1 cup Glutinous Rice/Sweet Rice; wash and drained
  • 1 cup Coconut Milk
  • 4 tbsp Cane/Fine Sugar
  • Kosher Salt/Table Salt
  • 1 tsp Corn Flour/Corn Starch
  • 1 tsp White Sesame Seeds; toasted

Directions

  1. In a stainless steel bowl, add drained rice, 1/2 cup Coconut Milk, 2 tbsp Sugar, pinch of Salt and 1/2 cup Water. Traditionally, rice is cooked as per normal which takes 40 mins and soaked in the coconut mixture for at least 2 hours or when fully absorbed. However, I tried cooking it together in the IP and it works! Saves a huge load of time!!
  2. Sit the stainless steel bowl on the steamer rack with 1 cup of water in the IP (pot-in-pot). Set ‘Manual’, 12 mins, ‘High Pressure’, 5 mins NR and then an immediate release. Fluff rice. 
  3. Remove rice and transfer rice to a flat dish to let it cool down. 
  4. Prepare coconut sauce. In a saucepan, simmer coconut milk with 2 tbsp of Sugar, pinch of Salt and Corn Starch mixture. Let it thicken. Keep sauce warm.
  5. Serve the dessert with slices of Mango sitting on a bed of rice, and with the coconut sauce drizzled over it. Garnish. 

Noms noms!! ♥️

